Meetings Committee

Meeting dates (10:00 am start)

2010: 15 January, 9 April, 23 July, 8 October


Reporting Mechanism

Education Board


  • To ensure timely and effective organisation of postgraduate and scientific meetings and courses which serve to further the educational objectives of the College and which meet the requirements of College Fellows, Members, Diplomates and Trainees as appropriate.
  • To approve the subject matter of all RCOG meetings and courses to ensure these are appropriate and meet the aims and standards of the College
  • To maintain open lines of communication with other appropriate College Departments, Committees and bodies (e.g. SAC, CESB) to ensure that their recommendations and requirements for meetings and courses are considered and satisfied
  • To respond appropriately to direct proposals for postgraduate and scientific meetings and courses from Fellows, Members and Diplomates
  • To initiate or respond appropriately to proposals received for joint meetings with external organisations in order to foster links and fulfil common educational goals
  • To make recommendations to the College concerning the development of new initiatives (e.g. T3, Clinical Effectiveness issues)
  • To oversee the diary of RCOG meetings to minimise any conflicts with external meetings and courses


See above. The Chairman and the Head of the Conference and Postgraduate Meetings Department liaise closely in an executive capacity to implement the specific outputs of Committee discussions and to deal with urgent relevant issues arising between meetings



Lynn Whitley

Tel: +44 (0)20 7772 6252


Professor Basky Thilaganathan FRCOG, Chairman and Convenor of Meetings


Dr Claudine Domoney MRCOG, Convenor of Part 1 Revision Courses
Mr John Duthie FRCOG, Convenor of Training the Trainers Courses
Mr Anthony Hollingworth FRCOG, Assistant Convenor of Part 2 Revision Courses
Professor Sean Kehoe FRCOG, Convenor of Study Groups
Dr Clare McKenzie MRCOG, ATSM Officer
Mr David Redford FRCOG, Convenor of Part 2 Revision Courses
Dr Mark Roberts MRCOG, Convenor of BPS Courses
Mr Mahmood Shafi FRCOG, CPD Officer
Dr Emma Torbé MRCOG, Trainees' Representative
Dr Natalie Teich, Consumers' Forum Representative
Mrs Lynn Whitley , Head of Conferences and Postgraduate Meetings

main menu