You are currently using an unsupported browser which could affect the appearance and functionality of this website. Please consider upgrading to the latest version or using alternatives such as Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

Blair Bell Research Society

The Blair Bell Research Society was established in 1962 to be a meeting point for those interested in both animal and human reproduction to discuss current research issues.

History of the Blair Bell Research Society

The Society is named after William Blair Bell, the first President of the RCOG and a clinician who worked in basic research and its application into medical practice. Initial meetings were held at the College every 3 months and consisted of 3–4 papers of 20 minutes duration, with much time allowed for discussion. This informal, discursive atmosphere remains an important part of the Society ethos and makes these meetings an ideal forum for more junior researchers to develop their presentation skills.

Aims and scope of the Blair Bell Research Society

The aim of the Society has always been to encourage research, the interchange of ideas and information in obstetrics and gynaecology, and the promotion of knowledge in all areas of reproductive biology. Membership is open to both clinical and non-clinical scientists.

The broad interests of the Society make it unusual in an era of increasing subspecialisation. On the basis that good science is often relevant to more than one clinical area, meetings are a source of stimulation and cross-fertilisation of ideas.

Blair Bell Research Society annual meetings

The Blair Bell Research Society holds yearly 'competition’ meetings. All clinicians and scientists working in the UK and Ireland in the field of O&G are invited to submit abstracts to the meeting, which are ranked by the Blair Bell Research Committee. The highest scoring abstracts are included in the programme as oral presentations.

The Blair Bell Research Society awards a prize to the best presentation, and a separate prize to the best undergraduate presentation. Poster prizes are also awarded. The winning oral presenter is invited to represent the Society by submitting and presenting their research at an annual meeting of their choice with the costs of their meeting attendance covered by the society. There are also prizes for poster presentations and plenary talks.

The Blair Bell Research Society annual meeting is incorporated into the Annual Academic Meeting.

Submissions will be open shortly for the Blair Bell Research Competition at the RCOG Annual Academic Meeting. Information about competition entry, date, location and programme of the upcoming meeting can be found on the Annual Academic Meeting 2021 event.

Blair Bell Research Society Committee

Membership of the Blair Bell Research Society Committee is as follows:

  • Professor Lucy Chappell FRCOG (President)
  • Dr Fiona Denison (Vice-President)
  • Dr Jenny Myers (Secretary)
  • Dr Neil Ryan (Treasurer)
  • Dr Emma Crosbie
  • Dr Katy Vincent
  • Mr Nigel Simpson
  • Dr Steph Worton
  • Ms Anna Harvey
  • Professor Krina Zondervan
  • Professor Steve Charnock-Jones
  • Chair of the Academic Board (co-opted) – Professor Andrew Horne
  • Chair of the Research Committee (co-opted) –Professor Ed Johnstone