Skip to main content

Equivalence Advisory Group

Meeting dates (10:00 start)


  • Friday 24 January 2020
  • Thursday 13 February 2020
  • Thursday 19 March 2020
  • Thursday 16 April 2020
  • Thursday 14 May 2020
  • Thursday 18 June 2020
  • Thursday 16 July 2020
  • Thursday 13 August 2020
  • Thursday 17 September 2020
  • Thursday 15 October 2020
  • Thursday 19 November 2020
  • Thursday 17 December 2020



Reporting mechanism

The Equivalence Advisory Group reports to Education Board.


  • To define and map ‘equivalence’ with respect to the evolving curriculum.
  • To assess applicants’ equivalence to a day one Consultant.
  • To agree methods of assessment according to guidance issued by the General Medical Council (GMC).
  • To assess applications and submit recommendations to the GMC.
  • To monitor best practice in equivalence matters in other Colleges.
  • To liaise with the GMC on all issues regarding applications, reviews, re-applications and appeals.
  • To consider the liability to the College and how this may be indemnified.
  • To note matters of concern in the College's Risk Register, as appropriate, and in a timely manner.
  • The Equivalence Group will report to the Education Board within the College with regard to recommendations on the equivalence of training.
  • To respond to GMC consultations concerning CESR-related matters.
  • To engage in discussion with stakeholders, both internal and external (e.g. Specialty Education Advisory Committee (SEAC), deaneries) on CESR-related matters.

Frequency of meetings

Once a month, depending on how many CESR applications are received.



Please send all correspondence to the committee secretary.


Gemma Mordecai
Tel: +44 20 7772 6451

Senior Equivalence Advisor

  • Dr Malini Prasad FRCOG

Deputy Senior Equivalence Advisor

  • Mrs Sarah Reynolds FRCOG


  • Dr Dave Semple FRCOG
  • Mr Hossam Elsheikh MRCOG
  • Dr Mandira Hazra MRCOG
  • Dr Tahira Naeem FRCOG
  • Dr Fatima Abu Amna FRCOG
  • Dr Glefy Furtado MRCOG
  • Mrs Avideah Nejad FRCO
  • Dr Humera Ansar FRCOG
  • Ms Natasha Nicole Archer MRCOG
  • Mr Mohamed Abdelalim Mohamed Elnasharty MRCOG
  • Dr Judith Moore FRCOG
  • Mr Mahmoud Moussa MRCOG
  • Dr Eman Toeima MRCOG
  • Dr Padma Munjuluri FRCOG


Elsewhere on the site

2019 meeting dates
Dates for all committee meetings, exams, admission ceremonies and dinners in 2019
College governance
See full details of the RCOG’s governance structure