Skip to main content
Other pages in this section

Scientific Advisory Committee

Meeting dates (10:00 start)


  • 26 January
  • 22 June
  • 12 October


Reporting mechanism

The Scientific Advisory Committee reports to the Clinical Quality Board.


The Scientific Advisory Committee has a broad brief encompassing both basic and clinical science, including health services research.

  • To ‘horizon scan’ and debate relevant scientific issues, including future developments of relevance to the specialty.
  • To produce regular news items and/or Scientific Impact Papers for the membership.
  • To contribute to College responses on national policies and direction.
  • To react to requests for scientific advice from Officers, committees, working parties and Fellows/Members of the College.
  • To advise Officers and appropriate committees about future national and international scientific and clinical meetings and study groups.
  • To report to the Clinical Quality Board.


Please send all correspondence to the committee secretary.


Tel: +44 20 7772 6429


  • Dr Sadaf Ghaem-Maghami MRCOG


  • Mr Mostafa Metwally FRCOG


  • Dr Elly Brockbank MRCOG
  • Dr Mandish Dhanjal FRCOG
  • Dr Kannamannadiar Jayaprakasan MRCOG
  • Dr Asma Khalil MRCOG
  • Professor Henry Leese FRCOG (Scientific Representative)
  • Dr Angela Brady (Genetics Representative)
  • Dr Fiona Denison MRCOG
  • Ms Kate Brian (Women's Network Representative)
  • Mr Eddie Morris FRCOG (RCOG Vice President, Clinical Quality)
  • Dr Aung Soe (Neonatologist Representative)
  • Mr Leo Gurney MRCOG (Trainees' Representative)
  • Director of Clinical Quality, RCOG
  • Clinical Effectiveness Manager, RCOG

Elsewhere on the site

2018 meeting dates
Dates for all committee meetings, exams, admission ceremonies and dinners in 2018
College governance
See full details of the RCOG’s governance structure