Skip to main content
Other pages in this section

Subspecialty Committee

Meeting dates (10:00 start)


  • Thursday 1 February 2018
  • Tuesday 22 May 2018
  • Thursday 6 September 2018
  • Friday 16 November 2018


Reporting mechanism

The Subspecialty Committee reports to Specialty Education Advisory Committee.


To advise and keep under review:

  1. The development of subspecialisation in the four fields of gynaecological oncology, reproductive medicine, maternal and fetal medicine and urogynaecology including requirements and regulations for subspecialist training and accreditation;

  2. The criteria and procedures for approval of subspecialty trainees, training programmes, and for subspecialist accreditation on completion of training.


  1. Ensures visits are arranged to assess trainees in post and prospective training centres in liaison with the Deanery.

  2. Makes recommendations to the Deanery regarding the approval of programmes on the basis of advice provided in the visitors’ reports following recognition visits.

  3. Makes recommendations to the Education Board regarding the award of certificates of Subspecialist Accreditation on the basis of advice provided in visitors report following trainee final review visits.

  4. Provides feedback to programme subspecialty training programme supervisors (STPS) on the progress of trainees based on information submitted in the assessors’ reports following mid-term review visits

  5. Provides feedback to the School for the annual review of competence progression (ARCP) on the progress of trainees based on information submitted in the assessors’ report following subspecialty assessments.

  6. Liaises with STPS to ensure the curricula, requirements for training and the various application and report forms are updated appropriately.

  7. Keeps statistics on current and past trainees, including manpower and funding information, and the number of centres and programmes approved.

Frequency of meetings

4 times a year

Administrative support

Education Policy Team


Role Member
Chair Professor Mark Kilby FRCOG
Vice Chair Dr Joanne Bailey MRCOG
Two representatives for Maternal and Fetal Medicine

Dr Sri Sankaran MRCOG
Mr Alec McEwan MRCOG

Two representatives for Reproductive Medicine

Dr Meena Choudhary MRCOG
Mr Mostafa Metwally FRCOG

Two representatives for Gynaecological Oncology

Mr Jo Nieto FRCOG
Mr Philip Rolland MRCOG

Two representatives for Urogynaecology

Dr Karen Guerrero FRCOG
Dr Karen Ward MRCOG

One Head of School from SEAC

Mr Jason Waugh MRCOG
One representative from the trainees Dr Michelle Mackintosh MRCOG
One representative from the Advanced Training Committee TBC

Elsewhere on the site

2018 meeting dates
Dates for all committee meetings, exams, admission ceremonies and dinners in 2018
College governance
See full details of the RCOG’s governance structure