Skip to main content


There are 6 honorary Officers, who each serve for a maximum of 3 years. The President, for the first time, was elected in 2019 by Fellows and Members in the UK and Ireland. The 5 Vice Presidents are elected by RCOG Council.


Edward Morris

Mr Edward Morris MD FRCOG, is a consultant at the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust. He has wide and varied interests across obstetrics and gynaecology and was Clinical Director for seven years. He was part of the curriculum design team for the obstetrics and gynaecology course for Norwich Medical School which opened in 2002 and has been an active senior lecturer at the University of East Anglia since, teaching undergraduates and supervising MD and PhD higher degrees.

Mr Morris was Vice President for Clinical Quality at the RCOG from September 2016 to December 2019. In this role, he championed the value of high quality communication, leading the modernization of RCOG guidance and patient information. He promoted the use of routinely collected big data to improve care and patient safety. In this post he helped secure funding for large national quality improvement projects such as Each Baby Counts, Learn and Support.

Mr Morris leads specialist menopause and tertiary endometriosis services. He has authored over 70 peer reviewed articles, book chapters and national documents, is co-editor of the Journal Post Reproductive Health and inventor of the website Manage my Menopause.

He is globally recognised for his work in patient safety, guidelines and medical device work with the MHRA. He was the inaugural chair of the RCOG patient safety and quality committee and chairman of the British Menopause Society 2013-2015.

Responsible for:

  • Council (chair)
  • Officers (chair)
  • Academy of Medical Royal Colleges (member)
  • FIGO (member)
  • External relations
  • Government relations
  • Policy
  • Strategy



Senior Vice President for Global Health

Ranee Thakar

Responsible for:

  • Global Health Board (chair)
  • Global Health Programmes
  • International Advocacy
  • International Stakeholders
  • Global Patient Public Involvement
  • Events
  • Global Congress
  • International Representative Committees and Liaison Groups


Vice President for Clinical Quality

Tim Draycott

Responsible for:

  • Clinical Quality Board (chair)
  • National Guideline Alliance and Consortium Board
  • Digital Strategy
  • Guidance suite modernisation
  • Patient Safety Strategy
  • RCOG Centre for Quality Improvement and Clinical Audit
  • Each Baby Counts/NHS Resolution/HSIB
  • Consent
  • Modernising Patient Information


Vice President for Education

Susan Ward

Responsible for:

  • Education Board (chair)
  • Exams and assessment
  • Curriculae (post & undergraduate)
  • Trainees committee
  • Specialty Education
  • UK Patient and Public Involvement/ Women’s Network
  • Education Event Content
  • CPD
  • Journals


Vice President for Workforce & Professionalism

Jo Mountfield

Responsible for:

  • Finance & General Purposes Committee (chair)
  • Business Development
  • RCOG Resources
  • Workforce planning
  • Maternity Transformation Programme
  • Health Education England / General Medical Council
  • Invited Reviews
  • ATSM/Senior Curriculum


Vice President for Membership

Patrick O'Brien

Responsible for:

  • Membership Board (chair)
  • Academic Board (attends)
  • Consultant job plan approvals
  • Member Relations & Support
  • Member Benefits
  • Specialist societies
  • Ceremonies
  • UK  Congress
  • Supporting Our Doctors


Elsewhere on the site

A–Z of RCOG contacts
See contact details for key departments and services at the College
Past Presidents
See a list of all past Presidents of the RCOG