Skip to main content

Herbert Erik Reiss Memorial Case History Prize

Two prizes, (second prize £200, first prize £400) are awarded to candidates who submit the most outstanding presentation of a clinical case, including critical assessment and literature research, on a topic in obstetrics and gynaecology.

Eligibility and requirements

The Herbert Erik Reiss Memorial Prize is available to FY1 and FY2 doctors or Specialist Training Years 1 and 2 in the UK and the Republic of Ireland.

A maximum of 2,000 words with a maximum of 10 references should be submitted. Applications that are over the word limit will be marked down. Please include the name and address of your supervisor.

Your application will be judged on the following criteria:

  • General clinical relevance
  • Presentation style
  • Insight into clinical features of the case
  • Knowledge of literature
  • Quality of discussion
  • Level of involvement



Please ensure you read the guidance on submitting your application before entering any of the awards.

To apply, please send your application to the Awards Administrator by midnight on Friday 31 May 2019.


Elsewhere on the site

Awards, grants & prizes
See all the available awards, grants and prizes offered by the RCOG
Awards submission criteria
Read the submission criteria for RCOG awards, grants and prizes