Skip to main content

Professor Geoffrey Chamberlain Award

This award was established in memory of Professor Geoffrey Chamberlain who was President of the College, Editor-in-Chief of BJOG and Head of Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology at St George’s Hospital, London. The award consists of two separate prizes.

Applications for the first award are no longer open.

The first award will be awarded every 3 years and will be presented at the time of the RCOG World Congress held in the British Isles. The sum of £1000 will be awarded for the best submitted oral or poster presentation by a trainee resident in the subcontinent (Nepal, Bhutan, Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka). A decision would be made on the basis of the best mark achieved and selected by the Congress Abstract Committee.

The second award will be made on an annual basis; the sum of £150 will be awarded to any trainee in obstetrics and gynaecology throughout the world submitting an essay to be marked by the Chamberlain Fund Panel on an aspect of teaching or training in obstetrics and gynaecology. The essay should be no more than 800 words and should be acceptable for publication in The Obstetrician & Gynaecologist (TOG).


Eligibility and requirements

The first award is open to Trainees in the sub-continent: Nepal, Bhutan, Pakistan, India, Bangladesh or Sri Lanka. The second award is open to all Trainees worldwide.

The essay for the second award should be no more than 800 words and must be adequately referenced and written in a format comparable to that used for submission to a learned journal. Applications that are over the word limit will be marked down.

You will be judged on the following criteria:

  • General clinical relevance
  • Presentation style
  • Insight into...
  • Knowledge of literature
  • Quality of discussion
  • Level of involvement



Please ensure you read the guidance on submitting your application before entering any of the awards.

To apply, please send your application to the Awards Administrator by midnight on Friday 31 May 2019.