Skip to main content

MRCOG: A global exam

Read about the benefits to your career of the MRCOG, the RCOG's membership exam.

The gold standard qualification in O&G

Membership ceremony Membership ceremony Membership ceremony

The RCOG is a truly international organisation of over 16,000 Fellows and Members worldwide. Around half of our members practise outside the UK, with over 6000 obstetricians and gynaecologists working in more than 100 countries including India, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, the UAE and many more.

Our leadership in medical education, combined with the knowledge and expertise of our international faculty, enables us to design curricula to support O&G training and women’s health care globally. The MRCOG exam is internationally respected as the gold standard qualification for career progression in O&G: it's your passport to the very pinnacle of the profession.

The Membership examination, which was first held in 1931, is intended for those who wish to specialise in obstetrics and gynaecology. The exam is a 3-part assessment:

Part 1 MRCOG

Written examination to evaluate basic and clinical sciences relevant to the subject.

Part 2 MRCOG

Written examination that assesses the application of knowledge.

Part 3 MRCOG

A stand-alone clinical skills exam which assesses candidates' ability to apply core clinical skills in the context of the skills, as defined in the Part 2 MRCOG curriculum.

The Part 3 MRCOG is part of the assessment and validation process for entry on to the UK Specialist Register and progress to a consultant post in O&G. UK specialty trainees must pass the Part 2 and Part 3 MRCOG before progressing from ST5 to ST6.

Visit the web links above for more information on each exam part, including where & when they're held, regulations, and how to apply.

Membership is awarded to those who have passed all 3 parts of the Membership examination. Members may use the designatory letters MRCOG. Read more about the use of designatory letters.


Announcements, policies & information


Elsewhere on the site

DRCOG exam
Find out about the Diploma exam (DRCOG), designed for GPs and other non-O&G-specialist doctors who work in women's health
Become an MRCOG Examination and Education Centre
Find out how you could set up an exam centre in your own country