Skip to main content
Other pages in this section

The new CPD Framework – an overview

This section of the site provides a brief overview of the new CPD Framework – including the two new key ideas of stages and dimensions.

CPD Programme Framework
CPD Programme Framework [PDF]

Read the framework in full (1MB)

A 4-stage cycle

The new CPD programme is built around a 4-stage cycle:

  • Planning – allows you to determine your learning objectives according to your professional needs. And these objectives can be based on your personal career aims and job satisfaction, your scope of practice, and the needs of the healthcare environment in which you work and the people who use it.
  • Learning events – are how you engage in the process. They are divided into:
    • Formal – events with clear learning objectives or outcomes that are publicised and (usually) provide a certificate of attendance or completion, such as courses, seminars and eLearning
    • Experiential – events that aim to capture learning outside a ‘classroom’ environment, such as workplace-based learning, learning from cases, learning from patient and peer feedback, and discussion with peers
    • Specific – defined activities that have specific credit values, such as completing TOG questions, or working on guidelines
  • Reflection – encourages you to think about what you have learned and how this relates to your CPD plan and to the service you provide
  • Action – demonstrates how you have applied your learning to your practice

The new CPD dimensions

The new CPD dimensions replace the existing CPD categories, and describe the components of the professional identity of the specialist obstetrician and gynaecologist, while allowing for the diverse range of practice in the wide variety of roles and environments in which specialists practise.

  • Clinical dimension – includes areas of learning that correspond to your role and practise. Examples include: reflection on clinical cases, learning from colleagues, audit, developing and revising guidelines, surgical skills, neonatal resuscitation, specialist societies meetings and courses, etc
  • Professional dimension – includes areas of learning common to all specialists that support and enhance their wider professional skills, attitudes and behaviours, such as teamwork, communication, equality and diversity, risk management, etc.
  • Extended role dimension – includes the additional roles that you undertake in addition to your clinical practice, such as Academic, Educational, Leadership or Managerial. Examples include examining, undergraduate or postgraduate teaching, formal leadership training, developing new services, mentoring/coaching, etc

The output report

You will be able to produce and export an individualised report of your CPD from your ePortfolio, with timeframes of your own choosing, that can align to your appraisal year.

How the new CPD Programme helps you meet the GMC requirements for appraisal and revalidation

The new programme mirrors the GMC’s Guidance on supporting information for appraisal and revalidation requirements, and will reduce duplication. It will let you:

  • create a Personal Learning Plan (PLP) to inform your Personal Development Plan (PDP)
  • define your Practice and Roles (P&R) to reflect your Scope of Practice
  • link your CPD to PLP, P&R and GMC Domains (for those working in the UK)

It facilitates reflection on learning across all areas of practice, helps you provide evidence for the impact of your CPD, and includes:

  • learning from patient and peer feedback
  • team learning (not just individual learning)
  • learning for generic professional skills
  • an individualised reporting system for appraisal

Watch this space

We will share more information with you in the coming months…

Contact details

If you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact the CPD Office at, or call 020 7772 6307/283.