Skip to main content

Malaysia IRC Fellows and Members Election August 2021

Fellows and Members in Malaysia

Elections are being held for the new International Representative Committee (IRC) for Malaysia. Candidates who wish to stand for the position on the committee should be active Fellows or Members, who are up-to-date with their fees and resident in Malaysia. Current or previous committee Fellows and Members are eligible for re-election for a total of two continuous terms.

There are three Fellow vacancies and three Member vacancies on the committee.

Election process

We have successfully concluded the nomination process for the Malaysian IRC election.

We have received three Fellow nominations and five Member nominations, so we will commence with an online vote for the Member vacancies.

All Fellows and Members who are eligible to vote will receive an online ballot form on which to cast their vote.

The candidate information is below.

The voting deadline is 23:59 on Wednesday 15 September 2021.

If you have any queries please contact

Candidate information

  • Dr Kavitha Nagandla, MRCOG
  • Dr Lee Chai Yuit, MRCOG
  • Dr Lim Ai Wei, MRCOG
  • Dr Mohamad Nasir Shafiee, MRCOG
  • Dr Muniswaran S/O Ganesham @ Ganeshan, MRCOG

Dr Kavitha Nagandla MRCOG

Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, International Medical University Malaysia.

Dr Kavitha is currently the lead coordinator for Obstetric and Gynaecological undergraduate training programme and Postgraduate MRCOG trainee at University Hospital. She has numerous scholastic contributions including the The Obstetrician and Gynaecologist (TOG) of RCOG. She has been Speaker-chair for RCOG Part 2 courses/ college VRC and MRCOG Part 3 examiner, November 2019.

Dr Lee Chai Yuit MRCOG

Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist in Subang Jaya Medical Centre (SJMC), Selangor Darul Ehsan.

Dr Lee is a dedicated consultant who is actively involved in educating and guiding the younger doctors who are pursuing the MRCOG examination. She is also a member of the Malaysia Obstetric and Gynaecology Society and is actively involved in giving talks at conferences.

Dr Lim Ai Wei MRCOG

Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecology, Thomson hospital, Kota Damansara, Selangor Darul Ehsan.

Dr Lim is actively involved in training the younger generation who are participating in O&G exams in Malaysia which includes giving conference, training sessions and also classes. She is also a member of the Obstetric and Gynaecology Society of Malaysia (OGSM).

Dr Mohamad Nasir Shafiee MRCOG

Professor in Obstetrics& Gynaecology, Consultant in Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Assistant Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Head of Cancer Research Group, at the National University of Malaysia.

Dr Shafiee is lead for the cancer research team, involving multidisciplinary/translational research projects in the National University of Malaysia; Committee members of National Postgraduate Curriculum in O&G; provides supervision and training for O&G trainee and fellows (local and international) in gynaeoncology and lead for the entrepreneurship activities among medical students.

Dr Muniswaran S/O Ganesham @ Ganeshan MRCOG

Maternal Fetal Medicine Specialist and Obstetrician & Gynaecologist, Women and Children’s hospital Kuala Lumpur (hospital Tunku Azizah).

Dr Muniswaran is Maternal Fetal Medicine Unit Lead at the Women & Children’s Hospital Kuala Lumpur; Scientific Chair for numerous conferences; member of the Malaysian Confidential Enquiry into Maternal Deaths and editor for numerous national guidelines and actively involved in teaching, research and education.