Skip to main content

Project governance

Meet the team behind the Each Baby Counts project


View the list of multidisciplinary Each Baby Counts Reviewers who analyse anonymised local reviews to identify and extract themes.

  • Reviewers (Excel document 16kb) updated Wednesday 21 October 2020

Please note: This list is updated regularly, please refer back to this page to view the most current version.


Each Baby Counts project team





Project team role

Professor Alan Cameron Professor Alan Cameron Southern General Hospital, Glasgow Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist Co-Principal Investigator
Professor Marian Knight Professor Marian Knight National Perinatal Epidemiology Unit (NPEU) Professor of Maternal and Child Population Health Senior Project Advisor
Professor Tim Draycott
Tim Draycott photo thumbnail RCOG Vice President – Clinical Quality Co-Investigator
Mr Benson Nwaobasi RCOG Each Baby Counts Project Manager Project Manager
Dr Louise Robertson Dr Louise Robertson Liverpool Women’s Hospital ST7 at Liverpool Women's Hospital, Mersey Deanery Co-investigator
Dr Sarah Prince Colchester Hospital ST6 Obstetrics & Gynaecology Co-investigator
Dr Ed Prosser-Snelling Dr Ed Prosser-Snelling Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist Quality Improvement Lead
Dr Gemma Goodyear RCOG Each Baby Counts Clinical Fellow Clinical Fellow
Ms Marta Anders RCOG Project Support – Each Baby Counts Project Support


Each Baby Counts Independent Advisory Group 

Terms of reference

  1. To provide overall supervision, strategic direction and governance of the activities of the programme.
  2. To approve the main Each Baby Counts project protocol, any protocol amendments and any later changes necessitated by considerations of feasibility and practicability.
  3. To monitor and supervise the progress of the project towards its interim and overall objectives.
  4. To advise the Each Baby Counts Project Team on all aspects of the programme, including publicity and presentation.
  5. To share learning from other national initiatives that is relevant and pertinent to the Each Baby Counts programme, and vice versa.

Please find below a list of the current members of the Each Baby Counts Independent Advisory Group. We would like to thank all previous members who have contributed their time to the group.




Professor Neil Marlow (Chair) University College London (UCL), Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Wing  Professor of Neonatal Medicine
Ms Denise Chaffer NHS Resolution Director of Safety and Learning
Professor Elizabeth Draper University of Leicester; MBRRACE Professor of Perinatal Epidemiology
Dr Grenville Fox British Association for Perinatal Medicine (BAPM) Consultant Neonatologist; BAPM Representative for the South of England
Ms Michelle Hemmington RCOG Women’s Voices Involvement Panel Patient Representative
Professor Sara Kenyon University of Birmingham Professor of Evidence Based Maternity Care
Mr Bertie Leigh Hempsons Solicitors; NCEPOD Senior Partner of Hempsons Solicitors; Chair of NCEPOD
Dr Corinne Love Scottish Government Senior Medical Officer, Scottish Government
Ms Nicky Lyon NHS England Women’s Health Patient Safety Expert Group Patient Representative
Professor Jan van der Meulen London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM) Professor of Clinical Epidemiology, Department of Health Services Research and Policy
Dr Heather Payne Welsh Government Senior Medical Officer for Maternal and Child Health
Ms Karen Todd Department of Health and Social Care Senior Policy Manager – Maternity and Neonatal
Ms Janet Scott
Sands Research and Information Lead
Ms Heather Reid Northern Ireland Maternal and Child Health (NIMACH) Regional Manager
Professor Steve Thornton Queen Mary University of London; RCOG Lindsay Stewart Centre Vice Principal (Health) and Executive Dean; Lindsay Stewart Centre Advisor
Ms Michele Upton NHS Improvement Head of Maternity and Neonatal Transformation Programmes
Professor Gerry Visser Universitair Medisch Centrum (UMC), Utrecht Head of Obstetrics, UMC, Utrecht
Mr Alastair McKelvey NHS England’s Specialised Women’s Services Clinical Reference Group; Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Consultant Obstetrician and Subspecialist in Maternal-Fetal Medicine, Associate Professor in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Chairman of Local Negotiating Committee
Dr Rita Arya Warrington and Halton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust; British Maternal & Fetal Medicine Society (BMFMS) Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist/Labour ward lead
Ms Anita Powell RCOG Director, Clinical Quality
Mr Daniel Wolstenholme RCOG Director and Senior Programme Manager, Clinical Quality
Professor Jenny Kurinczuk National Perinatal Epidemiology Unit (NPEU); MBBRACE Professor of Perinatal Epidemiology; NPEU Director
Dr Nuala Lucas Obstetric Anaesthetists Association (OAA) OAA Honorary Secretary
Mr Gary Waltham RCOG Executive Director, Education, Quality & Projects
Mrs Birte Harlev-Lam Royal College of Midwives (RCM) Executive Director for Professional Leadership
Dr Simon J. Clarke Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH) Neonatal Consultant, Vice President For Policy

Elsewhere on the site

Invited review service
Designed to help employers improve O&G services and/or individual clinical practice
Academic O&G
Find out how the RCOG supports and promotes academic work within obstetrics and gynaecology