Skip to main content
Back to news homepage

Changes to the MRCOG Exam in September 2016

News 29 May 2015

In September 2016 the MRCOG examination will be changing.

A new Part 3 MRCOG Clinical Assessment will be introduced in November 2016, replacing the existing Part 2 Oral Assessment. The Part 2 MRCOG written examination will be separated from the Part 3 MRCOG Clinical Assessment, and each will function as a standalone assessment.

The Part 3 MRCOG Clinical Assessment aims to assess candidates’ ability to apply core clinical skills in the context of the skills, knowledge, attitudes and competencies as defined in the Part 2 MRCOG curriculum.

The Part 3 MRCOG places increased importance on clinical skills relating to communication, patient safety, and applied clinical knowledge. These skills are fundamental to high quality patient care, and have been the key drivers of the proposed changes.

The examination will assess the following five core skill domains:

  • Patient safety
  • Communicating with patients and families
  • Communicating with colleagues
  • Information gathering
  • Applied clinical knowledge

Find out more by visiting the Changes to the MRCOG Exam page.