Skip to main content
Other pages in this section

2016 elections

This page provides information about the results of the 2016 Presidential, Vice Presidential and Council elections.

RCOG President

On 21 May 2016, Council elected Professor Lesley Regan as the next RCOG President. Professor Regan will take up office in September 2016.

RCOG Vice Presidents

On 8 July, Council elected Hani Fawzi, Mary Ann Lumsden, Edward Morris, Janice Rymer and Alison Wright to the five Vice President roles. The new team will take up office in September 2016.

Council representatives

The following individuals have been elected to RCOG Council:

Fellows - regional (UK and Republic of Ireland)

Constituency Name Result
East of England Jane Thomas Preston Elected
South West Tim Overton Elected
North West Sarah Vause Elected
Kent/Surrey/Sussex Hany Habeeb Elected unopposed
Thames Valley and Wessex Felicity Ashworth Re-elected
Northern Ireland Carolyn Bailie Elected
Republic of Ireland John Morrison Re-elected unopposed
Scotland  Kirsty Dundas Elected
Phil Owen Re-elected


Fellows - International

Constituency Name Result
Middle East and North Africa Hassan Shehata Elected
America, Australasia and the Pacific Rim Tim Draycott Elected
South Asia Ranee Thakar Elected
Sub-Saharan Africa Rhona Hughes Elected



Constituency Name Result
London: North, Central, East and North West Jane Currie Elected
Northern/Yorkshire/Humber Usha Nair Elected
Kent/Surrey/Sussex Maya Basu Elected unopposed
Thames Valley and Wessex Deborah Harrington Elected
Ireland (Northern) Declan Quinn Elected unopposed
Wales Anthony Griffiths Elected