Skip to main content
Back to news homepage

New President and team of Officers for the RCOG

News 13 December 2019

The Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RCOG) has today formally welcomed a new President and five Vice Presidents in a ceremony at the Royal College of Physicians. The new team will lead the College and the profession over the next three years.

Dr Edward (Eddie) Morris has become President of the RCOG, following an election in June that was open to over 7,000 UK and Ireland Fellows and Members. The Vice Presidents were elected by the College Council in September and will have specific roles with designated key areas of focus:

  • Tim Draycott FRCOG: Clinical Quality
  • Jo Mountfield FRCOG: Workforce and Professionalism
  • Patrick O’Brien FRCOG: Membership
  • Ranee Thakar FRCOG: Global Health
  • Susan Ward FRCOG: Education

The term of office for the RCOG President and Vice Presidents is three years.

Eddie Morris, President of the RCOG, said:

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank our outgoing President Professor Lesley Regan, and the current team of Vice Presidents, for their dedication and commitment to improving the health of women and girls during their time in office.

“They have given incredible service to the RCOG and their tireless work has led to significant positive changes both for the College and the profession at large and they will be remembered very fondly for this.”