Skip to main content
Back to news homepage

Presidential Election 2019 – Voting is open

News 13 May 2019

Voting for the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists Presidential Election is now open.

All Fellows and Members in the UK and Ireland have until 7 June to cast their vote on who will succeed the current President, Professor Lesley Regan, in December 2019.

Electoral Reform Services (ERS) are running the Presidential election process and a website has been set up where eligible voters* can cast their votes electronically. On the platform, Members and Fellows can also read the candidates’ statements and CVs, watch their videos and view the Q&A Session which took place on 9 May.

For the first time in the College’s history, the wider UK and Ireland membership can vote for the next President - previously the President was elected by members of the RCOG Council only.

With a diverse UK and Ireland membership of approximately 7,000 clinicians with wide ranging interests and specialisms, the College is committed to ensuring an open and fair process that is accessible and democratic for all.

Professor Lesley Regan, current RCOG President, said:

“Opening up the election of President to the wider membership is a landmark moment for our prestigious College.

“Being President of this College has been a great privilege and an enormously enjoyable time in my career. I am immensely proud of the work started, with the support of the Vice Presidents and the College staff, to influence policy makers and improve health care for women and girls across the UK.

“Whoever is elected as the next President will become the professional leader for women’s health and obstetrics and gynaecology in this country, and an ambassador for the speciality both in the UK and internationally. It is an immensely challenging role.

“It’s vitally important all our UK and Ireland members have the opportunity to choose the candidate they think is the best fit to lead our College and represent our profession.”

A reminder of the candidates:

Miss Melanie Clare Davies FRCOG

Professor Mary Ann Lumsden FRCOG

Mr Edward Patrick Morris FRCOG

Professor Janice Rymer FRCOG

Dr Alison L Wright FRCOG

The announcement of the new President will be made in June.

More information about the Presidential Election 2019 is available on our website.

*All eligible voters will be contacted by ERS with a link to the voting platform. You will be asked to enter the security codes, which will also have been sent to you from ERS by email or post. If you have not received any communication from ERS by 15 May, please contact