Skip to main content
Back to news homepage

RCOG announcement: 2014 winner of the Eardley Holland Gold Medal

News 23 December 2014

The Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RCOG) is delighted to announce that Professor Kypros Nicolaides of King's College Hospital, London has been awarded the Eardley Holland Gold Medal.

The medal is awarded once every five years to a Fellow or Member of the College for outstanding contribution to the science, practice and/or teaching of O&G.

RCOG President Dr David Richmond said:

"Professor Nicolaides is a tremendous figure in our specialty both in the UK and worldwide. His work in fetal medicine has resulted in improvements to maternal and child health. He is a true pioneer and his research has not only advanced the UK's standing as a lead player in women's health internationally but he has also trained and mentored generations of doctors who have gone on to achieve great things.

"We are very pleased he has accepted the award, in recognition for his excellence as an obstetrician and a researcher."


Sir Eardley Holland was a Foundation Fellow of the College and President from 1943-46. In 1960 he entered into a trust deed with the College which established the Eardley Holland Gold Medal Trust, and appointed the College the sole trustee. Under the terms of the trust the College is to hold money transferred by the donor for the purpose of awarding in every fifth year a gold medal.

The award was first made in 1960 and since that date is has been made quinquennially.

The medal has been awarded to:

1960 Professor J C Moir
1965 Professor C H G Macafee
1970 Professor Ian Donald
1975 Professor Sir Norman Jeffcoate
1980 Sir Dugald Baird
1985 Mr Patrick Steptoe
1990 Professor Sir Alec Turnbull
1995 Professor Sir Graham Liggins
2000 Professor David Baird
2005 Professor Robert Edwards
2010 Professor Charles Rodeck