Skip to main content
Back to news homepage

RCOG figures feature in HSJ’s BME Pioneers list 2013

News 29 November 2013

Previous President of the RCOG and current President of FIGO, Professor Sir Sabaratnam Arulkumaran and Dr Daghni Rajasingam, RCOG Council member, are both in the HSJ’s BME Pioneers list 2013.

The top 50 Pioneers list celebrates outstanding contributions of healthcare professionals from BME backgrounds. This is the inaugural edition and is supported by the BMA, NHS Employers and the NHS Leadership Academy.

Sir Sabaratnam ArulkumaranIn response to making the top 50 Professor Arulkumaran said: "I am delighted to get this recognition for services to medicine. Needless to say, this was possible because of my association with the RCOG. I would encourage as many fellows and members to volunteer some of their time for College work which directly or indirectly improves women's health in the UK or internationally."

Daghni RajasinghamDr Daghni Rajasingam is a consultant obstetrician at Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust. She is on the RCOG Council and is an official spokesperson for the College. She said: "I feel honoured to have made it onto the the BME Pioneer final list. This is recognition of the fantastic BME and non-BME clinicians that I am priviledged to work with and our committment to improving services for all our patients. My gratitude to the organisations that have supoprted this, including Guys and St Thomas' Hospital, The Royal College of Obstetricans and Gynaecologists and the Faculty of Medical Leadership and Management. I hope it will encourage other BME clinicans to take on leadership roles."

For more information and to view the full Pioneers list, please click here.