Skip to main content
Back to news homepage

The Royal Photographic Society Combined Royal Colleges Medal

News 16 January 2014

The Royal Photographic Society has put out a call for nominations for its Combined Royal Colleges Medal. Originally established by The Society in 1958 by The Society, in collaboration with the Royal College of Physicians of London, the Royal College of Surgeons of England and the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists, the Royal Colleges Medal is awarded for an outstanding contribution to the advancement of medical photography or the wider field of medical imaging.

Previous recipients of the Royal Colleges Medal include:

  • 2005 Simon Brown
  • 2006 Professor John Priestley
  • 2007 Nancy Durrell McKenna
  • 2008 Professor Francis Ring ASIS FRPS
  • 2009 Catherine Draycott
  • 2010 Spike Walker ASIS FRPS
  • 2011 Northumbria Healthcare and Northumbria University Arts Partnership
  • 2012 Micrima and The University of Bristol Microwave Imaging Group
  • 2013 Professor Anders Persson

Full details of the award and a nomination form can be found on The Society’s website or may be had on request from Awards Manager Jo Macdonald by emailing Nominations are required by 1 May 2014. The recipient will be announced at an Awards ceremony to be held in London in September 2014.

Information on the award is available on request from Awards Manager, Jo Macdonald, by emailing:

The Society has made Awards to photographers and those in photography since 1878 when its Progress medal was first awarded. There are now fifteen categories. In addition The Society also awards Honorary Fellowships of The Society – an honour it first bestowed in 1895. Recent winners include Joel Meyerowitz, Steve Sasson, Terry O’Neill, Albert Watson, Annie Leibovitz and Martin Parr, and individuals Philippe Garner, Sir David Attenborough and Sir Tim Berners-Lee, alongside scientists and museum and gallery curators.