You are currently using an unsupported browser which could affect the appearance and functionality of this website. Please consider upgrading to the latest version or using alternatives such as Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

O&G Curriculum 2024 | Special Interest Training Modules (SITMs)

There are seven obstetric modules and 14 gynaecology modules

Key information


  • You need to have completed two SITMs to be awarded CCT
  • You can undertake your first SITM from ST5 onwards
  • Your second SITM can only be started once you have achieved MRCOG
  • Once you have completed¬†the second SITM you can then start another i.e. you cannot do more than two SITMs at any one time

There are three foundation SITMs, these are only mandatory if you want to undertake one of the five relevant contingent SITMs. The table below shows the foundation SITMs and the relevant contingent SITMs.

Foundation SITMs

Contingent SITMs

Fetal Care

Prenatal Diagnosis

Pregnancy Care

Maternal Medicine

Gynaecological Surgical Care

Management of Complex non-malignant Disease

Gynaecological Surgical Care


Gynaecological Surgical Care

Robotic Assisted Gynaecological Surgery

The curriculum specific guides will give you further details on each SITM. 

Further information can be found in the Curriculum 2024 Essential Guide. SITM registration information can be found here.

More information

Core curriculum

Find all documents to download here, relevant to the core curriculum 2024

Learner support and guidance

Find resources to support learners with the implementation and transition to the Curriculum 2024

Educators support and guidance

Find all guidance material for faculty, workforce and service

Contact us

For further assistance or questions, please get in touch with our team via email at