Skip to main content
Other pages in this section

Trainees’ Committee

Meeting dates (13:30 start)


  • 20 November 2020


  • 18 March 2021
  • 15 July 2021
  • 18 November 2021



Reporting mechanism

The Trainees’ Committee reports to Education Board.


The Trainees’ Committee is a forum for discussion of issues relevant to training in obstetrics and gynaecology as well as wider issues relevant to the profession. The Committee acts as a channel for communication between Trainees and Council and other relevant committees, including outside organisations such as the Academy Trainee Doctors’ Group and the British Medical Association’s Junior Doctors’ Committee. The Trainees’ Committee organises an annual meeting for Trainees, contributes to College newsletters, elects Trainees to sit on Council and asks members to take responsibility for certain areas from time to time.

Additional information

Definition of a Trainee Representative on the Trainees’ Committee

A Trainee who wishes to be elected onto the Trainees’ Committee must be a doctor resident in the British Isles who:

  • Has an NTN and is on the Trainees’ Register; and
  • Has a minimum of 2 years of training (WTE) remaining in respect of their projected CCT date at the time of election

Election of members

The election process starts with a call for nominations, which is sent out to Trainees in the deanery by email. If more than 1 candidate is nominated, an election takes place by ballot (via an online voting system) organised by the College.

Candidates should be nominated by 2 Trainees from their deanery; however, self-nomination is acceptable. All Trainees within the deanery are eligible to vote. The Trainee who records the highest number of votes will be elected for a period of 3 years.

Should the elected representative have less than 3 (but more than 2) years remaining in respect of their CCT date, their period of representation will cease on their CCT date.

The Committee will submit nominations to the President for the post of Chair. Tenure of office for the Chair shall be for up to 3 years.

A Trainee appointed to a non-training post during their period of office will be required to demit office at the end of the next Committee meeting.

Elections for vacant posts are listed on Trainees' Committee Elections.



Trainees Committee Constitution (PDF, 554KB)



Please send all correspondence to the committee secretary.


Tania Chambers
Tel: +44 (0) 207 772 6294


Trainees' Executive




Adalina Sacco

Vice Chair for Education

Heidi Stelling

Vice Chair for Strategic Development

Sarah Quinn

Vice Chair, Quality and Collaboration

Sophie Relph






East of England

Paul Timmons

East Midlands

Piyanga Pabasaree Athauda

Kent, Surrey and Sussex

Samirah Toure

London North East/Central

Lauren Berg

London North West

Erna Bayar

London South

Jassimran Bansal

North West (Mersey)

Liam Beamer

North East

Heidi Stelling

North West (North Western)

Joanne Abiola

South West (Severn)

Sarah Quinn

South West (Peninsula)

Robert Harper

Thames Valley

Rebecca Davies


Natalie Crawford and Alice Stickland

West Midlands

Jayasish Ghosh

Yorkshire and Humber

Katherine Barton

Northern Ireland

Niamh Mary Haughey

Scotland (North, South and East)

Laura Stirrat

Scotland (West)

Christy Lamont


Simran Sharma

Republic of Ireland

Sorca O Brien



Honorary members (non-voting)




Hajra Khattak

Subspecialty trainees’ rep

Srjan Saso

Junior Academic trainees’ rep

Robert Kerr

UKARCOG Representative

Michael Rimmer

BMA rep

Ruth Anna Macqueen

President of the British Undergraduate Society of Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Anna Harvey

Global Health Board

Mary McCauley


Observers may be invited to attend meetings at the discretion of the Committee.


Elsewhere on the site

2019 meeting dates
Dates for all committee meetings, exams, admission ceremonies and dinners in 2019
College governance
See full details of the RCOG’s governance structure