Skip to main content

MRCOG: A global exam

Are you wondering whether you should sit the MRCOG, the RCOG’s membership exam? This page explains the benefits to your career and will help you make your decision.

Please see our page Information about RCOG exams for the latest information on Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3 exams.

The gold standard qualification in O&G

The RCOG is a truly international organisation of over 16,000 Fellows and Members worldwide. Around half of our members practise outside the UK, with over 6000 obstetricians and gynaecologists working in more than 100 countries including India, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, UAE... the list goes on.

Our leadership in medical education, combined with the knowledge and expertise of our international faculty, enables us to design curricula to support O&G training and women’s health care globally. The MRCOG exam is internationally respected as the gold standard qualification for career progression in O&G: it's your passport to the very pinnacle of the profession.

Membership ceremony Membership ceremony Membership ceremony

The Membership examination, which was first held in 1931, is intended for those who wish to specialise in obstetrics and gynaecology. The exam is a three-part assessment:

  • Part 1 MRCOG is a written examination to evaluate basic and clinical sciences relevant to the subject
  • Part 2 MRCOG is a written exam that assesses the application of knowledge
  • Part 3 MRCOG is a stand-alone clinical skills exam that assesses candidates’ ability to apply core clinical skills in the context of the skills, as defined in the Part 2 MRCOG curriculum. The Part 3 MRCOG is part of the assessment and validation process for entry on to the UK Specialist Register and progress to a consultant post in O&G. UK specialty trainees must pass the Part 2 and Part 3 MRCOG before progressing from ST5 to ST6.

Membership is awarded to those who have passed all three parts of the Membership examination. Members may use the designatory letters MRCOG.

For more information, including when and where you can sit the exam, how to apply, details of the syllabus, question format, FAQs, revision resources and more, please visit the dedicated webpage relating to each exam part.

Change of exam dates

The Part 1 and Part 2 written examinations are moving to an earlier position in the calendar to accommodate the new Part 3 Clinical Assessment. The advantage of moving the written examinations instead of the Clinical Assessment is that the final waypoint (the point at which a doctor obtains MRCOG) remains fixed. This reduces the administrative impact of the date change on training programmes, both in the UK and overseas, as well as the College’s Membership Department.

See the new 2018 dates on the Part 1Part 2 and Part 3 exam date pages.

General announcements

Elsewhere on the site

DRCOG exam
Find out about the Diploma exam (DRCOG), designed for GPs and other non-O&G-specialist doctors who work in women's health
Become an MRCOG Examination and Education Centre
Find out how you could set up an exam centre in your own country