You are currently using an unsupported browser which could affect the appearance and functionality of this website. Please consider upgrading to the latest version or using alternatives such as Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

Part 2 MRCOG EMQ Sub-committee

Meeting dates


  • 3 February 2022
  • 28 April 2022
  • 14 July 2022
  • 27 October 2022



Reporting mechanism

The Part 2 MRCOG EMQ Sub-Committee reports to the Examination and Assessment Committee.


Writing the extended matching questions (EMQ) and setting the paper for the Part 2 MRCOG written examination, which is held twice/three times a year.


  • Developing a bank of EMQs suitable for the Part 2 MRCOG examination.
  • Assisting the Examination Department with producing a draft EMQ paper six months prior to the Part 2 MRCOG Written examination.
  • Reviewing the performance of examination questions and the analysis of results.
  • Reviewing past questions and working with the new exam question banking system – Exam Developer
  • Maintaining the question bank and writing new questions.
  • Undertaking other Part 2 EMQ examination matters, as required by the Examination and Assessment Committee.
  • Developing appropriate standard setting techniques for the Part 2 EMQ examination.
  • Providing updates, on committee related issues, to the Examination and Assessment Committee.


4 meetings per year.

Members are required to attend at least 3 meetings.



  • Chair, selected by competitive interview, according to the approved role description
  • 9 members selected according to the approved role description
  • Chair of the Examination and Assessment Committee, ex officio



  • Mr Andrew Thomas Leather – Committee Chair
  • Dr Kinza Younas
  • Mrs Narasimhan Shantha
  • Dr Sushama Hemmadi
  • Ms Evelyn Ferguson
  • Dr Etienne Ciantar
  • Dr Sophia Webster
  • Dr Veluppillai Vathanan
  • Dr Melanie Tipples
  • Dr Iryna Roshko