You are currently using an unsupported browser which could affect the appearance and functionality of this website. Please consider upgrading to the latest version or using alternatives such as Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

Herbert Erik Reiss Memorial Case History Prize

The Herbert Erik Reiss consists of two prizes available to doctors in Foundation Years 1 and 2 and Specialist Training Years 1 and 2 in the UK or Republic of Ireland.


The winning applicants will be awarded:

  • First prize: £400
  • Second prize: £200


The Herbert Erik Reiss Memorial Prize is available to FY1 and FY2 doctors or Specialist Training Years 1 and 2 in the UK and the Republic of Ireland. The two prizes are awarded to candidates who submit the most outstanding presentation of a clinical case, including critical assessment and literature research on a topic in obstetrics and gynaecology.

How to apply

This award is currently closed for applications. 

Applications were hosted on the Oxford Abstracts platform.

Please register for an account using your email address.

For further guidance on how to submit your application, please see Oxford Abstracts' guidance on making a submission.

How your application will be judged

Your application will be assessed on the following criteria:

  • Case description
  • Literature review
  • Critical Discussion
  • Clinical relevance
  • Level of involvement
  • References