You are currently using an unsupported browser which could affect the appearance and functionality of this website. Please consider upgrading to the latest version or using alternatives such as Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

Annual Academic Meeting

The RCOG's Annual Academic Meeting, held with the Blair Bell Research Society, showcases top UK research in O&G, from basic science to clinical trials.

This two-day event features oral and poster presentations by researchers in training, judged and awarded by senior academics. Prizes are given for the best presentations, recognising outstanding work in the field.

Event highlights:

  • Oral and Poster Presentations: A platform for researchers to present their work, evaluated by senior academics.
  • Keynote Plenary Lectures: Insights from leaders in the field.
  • Hot Topics Sessions: Discussions on current issues and advancements.
  • Workshops: Tailored for academics at various stages of their training.
  • Networking: Formal and informal sessions to connect with peers and leaders.

Who should attend?

We welcome all who are interested in research in our specialty – academics (junior and senior), discovery scientists, NHS consultants and trainees, and undergraduates.

We aim to nurture and inspire the next generation of researchers by providing a platform for them to share their work, learn about academic O&G and network with peers and leaders in the field.

Awards and Recognition

The winners of the Annual Academic Award and the Blair Bell Memorial Lectureship are invited to present at the meeting. Additionally, various annual academic prizes awarded by the RCOG are presented at this event. There are prizes for the best oral and poster presentations.

2023 Annual Academic Meeting prize winners:

  • First prize, oral presentation: Michael Rimmer
  • Second prize, oral presentation: Katy Stevens
  • Best obstetric poster pitch: Olivia Moran
  • Best gynaecology poster pitch: Hannah Draper
  • Best obstetric poster: Jennifer Omole
  • Best gynaecology poster: Jack Tighe
  • The Fiona Dennison Prize for innovation: Shireen Jaufurally