You are currently using an unsupported browser which could affect the appearance and functionality of this website. Please consider upgrading to the latest version or using alternatives such as Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

Equivalence Advisory Group

Meeting dates (10:00 start)


  • Thursday 20 January 2022
  • Thursday 17 February 2022
  • Thursday 17 March 2022
  • Thursday 21 April 2022
  • Thursday 19 April 2022
  • Thursday 16 June 2022
  • Thursday 21 July 2022
  • Thursday 18 August 2022
  • Thursday 15 September 2022
  • Thursday 20 October 2022
  • Thursday 17 November 2022
  • Thursday 15 December 2022


Reporting mechanism

The Equivalence Advisory Group reports to Education Board.


  • To define and map “equivalence” with respect to the evolving curriculum.
  • To assess applicants’ equivalence to a day one Consultant.
  • To agree methods of assessment according to guidance issued by the General Medical Council (GMC).
  • To assess applications and submit recommendations to the GMC.
  • To monitor best practice in equivalence matters in other Colleges.
  • To liaise with the GMC on all issues regarding applications, reviews, re-applications and appeals.
  • To consider the liability to the College and how this may be indemnified.
  • To note matters of concern in the College’s Risk Register, as appropriate, and in a timely manner.
  • The Equivalence Group will report to the Education Board within the College with regard to recommendations on the equivalence of training.
  • To respond to GMC consultations concerning CESR-related matters.
  • To engage in discussion with stakeholders, both internal and external (e.g. Specialty Education Advisory Committee, Deaneries) on CESR-related matters.

Frequency of meetings

Once a month, depending on how many CESR applications are received.


Please send all correspondence to the committee secretary.


Gemma Mordecai
Tel: +44 20 7772 6451

Senior Equivalence Advisor

  • Mrs Sarah Reynolds FRCOG

Deputy Senior Equivalence Advisor

  • Dr Eman Toeima FRCOG


  • Mr Hossam Elsheikh MRCOG
  • Dr Tahira Naeem FRCOG
  • Dr Fatima Abu Amna FRCOG
  • Dr Glefy Furtado MRCOG
  • Mrs Avideah Nejad FRCO
  • Dr Humera Ansar FRCOG
  • Ms Natasha Nicole Archer MRCOG
  • Mr Mohamed Abdelalim Mohamed Elnasharty MRCOG
  • Dr Judith Moore FRCOG
  • Mr Mahmoud Moussa MRCOG
  • Dr Padma Munjuluri FRCOG
  • Dr Roopa Nair FRCOG
  • Dr Vidya Tamhankar MRCOG
  • Dr Daisy Nirmal MRCOG