You are currently using an unsupported browser which could affect the appearance and functionality of this website. Please consider upgrading to the latest version or using alternatives such as Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

Education Board

Meeting dates (10:00 start)


  • 03 May 
  • 26 July
  • 01 November 


Reporting committees

The following committees report to Education Board:

Reporting mechanism

The Board reports to Council generally, and also reports to the Finance and General Purposes Committee on matters with financial and resource implications.


  • To develop, maintain and monitor the College’s strategy for education (PDF, 333 kb) ensuring that it is aligned to the College’s overall strategy
  • To be responsible for the College’s standards in O&G postgraduate education and training, such as curricula, assessment and quality assurance measures
  • To oversee the continuing development of valid, fair and appropriate College examination processes
  • To facilitate the initiation and development of eLearning packages and related education initiatives as generic resources to support structured training and CPD
  • To co-ordinate and facilitate the development of specialist education, training and assessment in the widest sense, in accordance with the College curricula
  • To work with the Global Health Board to promote education and lifelong learning in UK and overseas
  • To oversee the scrutiny of all education related products and activities so as to provide assurance as to the high quality of the RCOG brand
  • To monitor, take cognisance of and respond to the General Medical Council and other education or health regulatory bodies.


The Board has executive and decision-making authority and will ratify the decisions of reporting Committees and Groups. The Board Minutes are presented at Council with major items as “starred” for discussion and ratification.



Susan Ward FRCOG – Vice President, Education




Vice President

Ian Scudamore

Primary Care Advisor

Bini Ajay

Vice President, Faculty of Sexual & Reproductive Healthcare

Janet Barter

Chair, Specialty Education Advisory Committee

Alastair Campbell

Advanced Training Review Project Lead

Bettina Cayetano

Locally Employed Doctors, Specialty and Associate Specialist (LED-SAS) Representative

Sarah Court

Chair, Examination and Assessment Committee

Paul Mills

Fellows Rep, Council

Andrew Sizer

Director, Education

Stephen Parr

Postgraduate Lead


Lead Dean for O&G

Adam Hill

Chair, Professional Development Committee

Sam Mukhopadhyay

Chief Executive Officer, RCOG

Kate Lancaster

Chair, Education Quality Assurance Committee

Andrew Watson

Vice Chair (Education), National Trainees’ Committee

Jassimran Bansal

Vice President, Faculty of Sexual & Reproductive Healthcare

Charlotte Porter

Vice President, Membership 

and Workforce

Laura Hipple

Director, Education

Kate Newland

Senior Equivalence Adviser

Sarah Reynolds

Director, Examination and Assessment

Stephen Parr

Chair, National Trainees’ Committee

Heidi Stelling

Council Members Representative

William Dudill

Honorary Director of Conferences

Dudley Robinson

Executive Director, Education and Quality

Carly Edwards

Chair MTI Committee

Hiran Samarage

Education Resource Adviser

Kirstin Silf

TOG Editor in Chief

Jo Morrison

Head of Specialty Education & Training

Elizabeth Goldsmith