You are currently using an unsupported browser which could affect the appearance and functionality of this website. Please consider upgrading to the latest version or using alternatives such as Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

Part 1 & 2 MRCOG Standard Setting committee

Meeting dates (9:30 start)


  • 11 January 2024
  • 27 June 2024


Reporting mechanism

The Part 1 & 2 MRCOG Standard Setting sub-committee reports to the Examination and Assessment Committee.


To perform standard setting for the Part 1 MRCOG examination and Part 2 MRCOG examination which are held twice/three times a year.


  • Scoring the written papers for the Part 1 and Part 2 MRCOG written papers as part of the Ebel’s and Angoff methods of standard setting.
  • Providing other question writing committees with information and training about the standard setting process
  • Reviewing the performance of examination questions and the analysis of results.
  • Undertaking other standard setting matters, as required by the Examination and Assessment Committee.
  • To provide the Examination and Assessment Committee with minutes of meetings.


2-3 per year. Members are required to attend all meetings.


  • Chair, selected by competitive interview, according to the approved role description
  • 16 members selected according to the approved role description
  • Chair of the Examination and Assessment Committee, ex officio


  • Dr Nicholas Myerson, Chair
  • Dr Claire Thompson
  • Dr Susan Ward
  • Dr Rajalakshmi Rajagopal
  • Dr Christina Kam Hung Yu
  • Dr Arumugam Jayanthi
  • Dr Makrina Savvidou
  • Mr Andrew Thomas Leather
  • Dr Kirsty Dundas
  • Dr Faye Rodger
  • Dr Mausumi Das
  • Dr Evelyn Ferguson
  • Dr Santhi Chidambaram
  • Dr Sherif Abdel-Fattah
  • Dr Abigail Brempah
  • Dr Georgia Smith