You are currently using an unsupported browser which could affect the appearance and functionality of this website. Please consider upgrading to the latest version or using alternatives such as Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

Research Committee

Meeting dates (10.00am start)


  • Dates TBC


Reporting mechanism

The Research Committee reports to the Academic Board.


The RCOG plays an active role in research in obstetrics and gynaecology. The Research Committee promotes and coordinates the RCOG's research activities.

The central objective of the Research Committee is to facilitate the evaluation of interventions to improve reproductive health outcomes for women, their children and their families. In addition, the Research Committee aims to:

  • Improve the coordination of research
  • Maintain and enhance the quality of research
  • Improve the integration of research
  • Widen participation in research

The strategic approach to addressing these challenges includes the development of a research portfolio that will:

  • Become relevant to all aspects of the reproductive health agenda
  • Make a real difference to the health and lives of women, their children and their families in the UK and beyond
  • Be generated by investigators from a wide range of disciplines
  • Be informed by the views and perspectives of women and their families

Members of the group are chairs of the 11 Clinical Study Groups (CSGs), which facilitate the process of developing and expanding the portfolio of research in reproductive health care in the UK. CSGs provide the primary route through which new ideas for clinical trials and other well designed studies are developed in the reproductive health field.

Find out how the Research Committee prioritises CSG research proposals.



Please send all correspondence to the committee secretary.


Tel: +44 20 7772 6311


  • Professor Ed Johnstone


Members of the Research Committee are Chairs of the Clinical Study Groups (CSGs):


Dr Ed Johnstone

Deputy Chair, Research Committee and Chair, Fetal Medicine CSG

Professor Debra Bick

Chair, Intrapartum Care CSG

Professor Laura Magee

Chair, Maternal Medicine (including Hypertensive Disease) CSG

Professor Jane Daniels

Chair, Benign Gynaecology and Early Pregnancy CSG

Mr Christian Phillips

Chair, Pelvic Floor CSG

Dr Paula Briggs

Chair, Post-reproductive Health (Menopause) CSG

Dr R Katie Morris

Chair, Preterm Birth Clinical Study Group CSG

Mr Mostafa Metwally

Chair, Reproductive Medicine (Fertility) CSG

Dr Rebecca French

Chair, Sexual and Reproductive Health CSG

Dr Sarah Stock

Chair, Stillbirth CSG

About the CSGs

Each CSG comprises executive and ordinary members. The CSGs are multidisciplinary groups that address research priorities and develop research proposals for funding. The groups interact with societies, lay communities and funding bodies. If you're interested in developing a research proposal or need advice on any research issue, please contact the Chair of the relevant CSG.

For more information, please visit the Clinical Study Groups page.