You are currently using an unsupported browser which could affect the appearance and functionality of this website. Please consider upgrading to the latest version or using alternatives such as Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

Annual Academic Meeting

The RCOG holds an Annual Academic Meeting each year to showcase the best of research in obstetrics and gynaecology in the UK, from basic science to clinical trials. Prizes are awarded for the best oral and poster presentations.

The 2-day Annual Academic/Blair Bell Research Society meeting centres around oral and poster presentations from researchers in training within our speciality. Presentations are awarded by senior academics and presentation at the meeting is a great way to showcase excellent research across all areas within the field of Obstetrics & Gynaecology. The meeting also includes keynote plenary lectures from leaders in their field, ‘hot topics’ sessions covering current issues, and workshops tailored to the needs of academics at different stages of their training.
The winners of the Annual Academic Award and the Blair Bell Memorial Lectureship are invited to present at the meeting alongside presentation of awards to host of annual academic prizes awarded by the RCOG each year.
The meeting provides formal and informal networking opportunities and aims to encourage everyone to get involved in our thriving research community. There are prizes for the best oral and poster presentations.
We welcome all who are interested in research in our specialty – academics (junior and senior), discovery scientists, NHS consultants and trainees, and undergraduates. We aim to nurture and inspire the next generation of researchers by providing a platform for them to share their work, learn about academic O&G and network with peers and leaders in the field.

Next meeting:

The next meeting will be held in early 2025.

Previous Annual Academic Meetings

Prize winners


  • First prize, oral presentation: Michael Rimmer
  • Second prize, oral presentation: Katy Stevens
  • Best obstetric poster pitch: Olivia Moran
  • Best gynaecology poster pitch: Hannah Draper
  • Best obstetric poster: Jennifer Omole
  • Best gynaecology poster: Jack Tighe
  • The Fiona Dennison Prize for innovation: Shireen Jaufurally