You are currently using an unsupported browser which could affect the appearance and functionality of this website. Please consider upgrading to the latest version or using alternatives such as Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.


RCOG Council is responsible for furthering the College's mission and for setting its long-term priorities and goals.

Meeting dates


  • Friday 9 February 2024
  • Friday 26 April 2024
  • Friday 5 July 2024
  • Friday 13 September 2024
  • Friday 29 November 2024


RCOG Council is responsible for furthering the College's mission and for setting its long-term priorities and goals. Council establishes and oversees the clinical, educational, professional, academic and ethical activities of the College. It is chaired by the President and meets six times a year. RCOG Council comprises:

Terms of reference

  • Council is the RCOG’s most senior professional body, responsible for furthering and fulfilling the mission of the College and for setting long-term goals and aims
  • All College Boards and professional committees report to Council, including the RCOG Women’s Network and the Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales Committees
  • Council agrees clinical and performance standards for RCOG education and training
  • Council debates, develops, advises and recommends policies and actions on clinical and professional matters for women’s health, the science and practice of obstetrics and gynaecology
  • Council is responsible for establishing working parties and inquiries to further the mission of supporting women’s health and for receiving reports from any bodies established
  • Matters for communication to Fellows, Members and Trainees are the responsibility of Council

Role descriptions

The role descriptions include information about the responsibilities, time commitment and eligibility of RCOG Councillors.

Council papers

To access the Council papers, you must be logged in first.

Please log in to the website, before accessing the link below.

Members of Council can download Council papers here.

Council minutes

RCOG Fellows and Members can view the minutes from the previous Council meetings.

To access the Council minutes, you must log in.

Member engagement resources for Council

Please find here a series of presentations that provide background on the roles and responsibilities of Council and logistics for Council including meeting dates and arrangements.


Please send all correspondence to the committee secretary.


Natasha Sullivan
Tel: +44 20 7772 6345

Council members 


President Ranee Thakar
Vice President, Workforce and Membership Laura Hipple
Vice President, Clinical Quality Geeta Kumar
Vice President, Education Ian Scudamore
Vice President, Global Health Hassan Shehata
Vice President, Academia and Strategy Asma Khalil



Elected Fellows 

London: South Dudley Robinson
London: North, Central, East and North West Joseph Iskaros
East of England Andrew Leather
Northern/Yorkshire/Humber Swati Jha
South West Philip Rolland
North West Andrew Pickersgill
Kent, Surrey and Sussex Melanie Tipples
Thames Valley and Wessex Fatima Husain
East Midlands Mausumi Das
West Midlands Justin Clark
Wales Sujeewa Fernando
Scotland (2) Alastair Campbell
  Colin Duncan
Northern and Republic of Ireland (2) Hans Nagar
  Suzanne O'Sullivan
International (5) Peter von Dadelszen (America/Australasia/Pacific Rim)
Stergios Doumouchtsis (Europe)
Jyotsna Acharya (South Asia)
Dilichukwu Okeoma Chinedum Anumba (Sub-Saharan Africa)
Sherif Abdel-Fattah (Middle East and North Africa)



Elected Members

London: North, Central, East and North West VACANT 
London: South Javaid Muglu
East of England Peter Harris
Northern/Yorkshire/Humber Hlupekile Chipeta
South West Alison Wiggans
North West Jenny Barber
Kent, Surrey and Sussex Chimwemwe Kalumbi
Thames Valley and Wessex Vanitha Kumar
East Midlands William Dudill
West Midlands William Parry-Smith
Scotland Hanan Mustafa
Northern and Republic of Ireland Claire Thompson
Wales Angharad Jones



Elected Trainees' Representatives 

Chair, Trainees Committee Kat Barton
Vice Chair, Trainees Committee Abby Hyland



Ex Officio Members 

Women’s Voices Lead Jane Plumb
Vice Chair, Women's Network Freya El Baz & Emma Crookes
President, Faculty of Sexual and Reproductive Healthcare (FSRH) Janet Barter
Specialty and Associate Specialist (SAS) and Locally Employed Doctors (LED) Lead Eman Toeima