Skip to main content
Other pages in this section


Meeting dates


  • Friday 25 January: Council Meeting
  • Saturday 26 January: Council Meeting and Members Admission Ceremony
  • Friday 5 April: Council Meeting
  • Friday 14 June: Members Admission Ceremony and Council Meeting
  • Saturday 15 June: Council Meeting and Fellows Admission Ceremony
  • Thursday 18 July: Members Admission Ceremony
  • Friday 20 September: Fellows Admission Ceremony and Joint Council/Board of Trustees Meeting
  • Saturday 21 September: Council Meeting
  • Friday 13 December: Installation of new Officers and Members Admission Ceremony, and Council Meeting



RCOG Council is responsible for furthering the College's mission and for setting its long-term priorities and goals. Council establishes and oversees the clinical, educational, professional, academic and ethical activities of the College.  It is chaired by the President and meets 6 times a year.  RCOG Council comprises:


Terms of reference

  • Council is the RCOG’s most senior professional body, responsible for furthering and fulfilling the mission of the College and for setting long-term goals and aims
  • All College Boards and professional committees report to Council, including the RCOG Women’s Network and the Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales Committees
  • Council agrees clinical and performance standards for RCOG education and training
  • Council debates, develops, advises and recommends policies and actions on clinical and professional matters for women’s health, the science and practice of obstetrics and gynaecology
  • Council is responsible for establishing working parties and inquiries to further the mission of supporting women’s health and for receiving reports from any bodies established
  • Matters for communication to Fellows, Members and Trainees are the responsibility of Council


Role descriptions

The role descriptions include information about the responsibilities, time commitment and eligibility of RCOG Councillors.


Council papers

To access the Council papers, you must be logged in first.

Please log in to the website, before accessing the link below.

Members of Council can download Council papers here.


Council minutes

To access the Council minutes, you must be logged in first.

Please log in to the website, before accessing the link below.

RCOG Fellows and Members can view the minutes from the previous Council meetings.



Please send all correspondence to the committee secretary.


Karen Cheung
Tel: +44 20 7772 6367

Council contact details

Fellows and Members of the College can access Council members' contact details here (please note you will need to be signed into the website).

Council members share their experiences

Some of the current Council members have written about their experience of being on Council. Select the names that are hyperlinked below to read about their different experiences and opportunities.

Council members 


President Lesley Regan
Senior Vice President, Strategic Development Mary Ann Lumsden
Vice President, Clinical Quality Edward Morris
Vice President, Education Janice Rymer
Vice President, Global Health Hani Fawzi
Vice President, UK and Global Membership Alison Wright



Elected Fellows 

London: South Basky Thilaganathan
London: North, Central, East and North West Patrick O'Brien
East of England Jane Thomas Preston
Northern/Yorkshire/Humber Adam Balen
South West Tim Overton
North West Sarah Vause
Kent, Surrey and Sussex Hany Habeeb
Thames Valley and Wessex Felicity Ashworth
East Midlands Susan Ward
West Midlands Sean (John) T Kehoe
Wales Euan Kevelighan
Scotland (2) Phil Owen
  Kirsty Dundas
Northern and Republic of Ireland (2) John Morrison
  Carolyn Bailie
International (5) Tim Draycott (America/Australasia/Pacific Rim)
Fionnuala McAuliffe (Europe)
Ranee Thakar (South Asia)
Rhona Hughes (Sub-Saharan Africa)
Hassan Shehata (Middle East and North Africa)



Elected Members

London: North, Central, East and North West George Attilakos
London: South Vasanth Andrews
East of England Edward Prosser-Snelling
Northern/Yorkshire/Humber Usha Nair
South West Katherine Edey
North West Martin Maher
Kent, Surrey and Sussex Abhijeet Shah
Thames Valley and Wessex Deborah Harrington
East Midlands Indranil Dutta
West Midlands Tony Thomas
Scotland Lucky Saraswat
Northern and Republic of Ireland Declan Quinn
Wales Anthony Griffiths



Elected Trainees' Representatives 

Adalina Sacco Chair, Trainees Committee
Sarah Murray Vice Chair, Trainees Committee




Andrew Horne Chair, Academic Board
Kate Brian Women’s Voices Lead
Catherine Nestor Vice Chair, Women’s Network
Jane Plumb Vice Chair, Women's Network
Asha Kasliwal President, Faculty of Sexual and Reproductive Health Care
Laura Hipple Specialty and Associate Specialist (SAS) and Trust Doctors Lead



Elsewhere on the site

RCOG Officers
Contact details for current RCOG Officers
RCOG committees
See the full list of RCOG committees